Friday, May 28, 2010

Day two!



May 25th day two
Today was not nearly exhausting as the last two. It was almost a breeze. We got up around 4 am and we all meet in the lobby by 445 so that we could walk to the train station, which was all downhill so it was easier, but my hand still kept falling asleep after pulling my bag. We finally made it to the train station with plenty of time to spare and waited for the track number to be called. We talked and giggled about random stuff, that I can’t even remember now. We got on the train at about 545ish and it reminded me very much of when we took the train in DC, but at a little bit of a faster pace. We all sat down and almost as soon as we did Jen decided we needed to find the food cart, so her matt and Jeremy went on a journey shortly after we left the station.
The first thing I noticed about the French country side is that from far away it looks a lot like Kansas, but more trees. And instead of farm fields they have vineyards. Old did you know that wine is cheaper than water here? Lol. Anyway it was a four (ish) hour train ride and we got to Bourdrex around 10 am and waited for Johnny to come pick us up. We are stating at his establishment until Friday. We all pile in the van and head to his Chetue which should have been an hour away but the traffic was horrid so it became more like 2. But it was worth it! It is so beautiful here! Photo opps everywhere you look. After we got a tour of the house and picked our rooms we toured the grounds and snapped photos and talked. We played a game called Set, which was FUN, and then after Johnny got back from the airport with the rest of the group (Easton and Dani flew in from London and Johnny had to go get them) we all played catch phrase and it was just over from there. Around 3 o clock Johnny started feeding us wine and beer and many kinds of cheeses. I saw seven new types of chesses today and I even tried 3, and liked one! FYI I don’t like goat or Gouda. We made us a snack that was interesting, it was bread with goat cheese on top covered in a vinegar and wine and maple syrup and put in over to melt. It was interesting, until I tasted the goat! (That’s what she said) then he brought out this feta, cottage and something else mixture wrapped in vine leaves and it tasted like something my mom would try I might try to get recipe from Johnny. Finally after we visited the horses we had dinner, which was chicken (on the bone) and potatoes and green beans and bread. And wine, I mean come on its France! Lol.
Oh and there are three dogs here! Ralph is like a bulldog/pit looking pup. And he is soo smart! He took his lead off the wall next to the door and drug it around, finally Jen caved and took him on a “walk” and he “walked” her to the front gate and she didn’t know how to get out, so she came back and he wasn’t happy, but he is smart and a bit of a daredevil! It hops in to a window on the 3rd floor and just sits there. Like ON the window seal!!! It’s amazing, then there is Bundi – which we call Father Time because he is sleek, grey and wise looking. He is part grey hound. The last dog is Luka and he smiles at you, which looks like he is bearing his teeth and you should run, but his butt was moving so fast it looked like he was smiling.
Oh and while we was outside eating dinner, it started to down pour and we had to run all into the house really quick and munch. After dinner we walked to the cemetery which was next door to the chetue, and took some photos then came back in to have dessert and more wine and just talk. It has been a great day and I still cannot believe we are here! In France, it blows my mind. Tomorrow I think we are going to visit the caves and some local museums and more interesting food! So far I have tasted everything that has been offered to me because I don’t want to miss any opportunities!

No comments:

Post a Comment